Skip to content

First Blog

March 25, 2009

joe I admit that I have been skeptical about blogging, but am beginning to warm to the idea. In fact, I’m getting excited about contributing to a discussion about community and economic development in Alabama. I have no shortage of ideas and opinions on this topic and this should be a great venue for engaging readers to test these ideas and to learn from you. Also, there are some great things going on at ECDI that I want to talk about. So I will periodically provide updates about ECDI events and programs and the work of our excellent staff. ECDI staff will be posting here too.

I’m not too sure what people expect from our blog, but I plan to provide information and my opinions on a range of topics. Most will be related to economic development but I warn you that I may sometimes stray and opine on other matters.

I will even talk a little about my family, who have a profound influence on how I see the world. Ella Clare (aka Sweet Pea), my granddaughter, will celebrate her first birthday on April 12. My 13-year-old son, Tucker, is a 7th Grader on the Auburn Jr. High Track Team and recently came in 1st place in the 1600 meters (one mile for my American readers) in a regional meet. Not only is he fast, he is smart, kind, and funny. He takes after his mom (except for the fast part). My wife and I prove the old adage that opposites attract. Lynn is beautiful, outgoing and impulsive. I am quiet, calm, and analytical (and not nearly as good to look at). But what the heck, it works. Lacey Updegraff, my daughter and Sweet Pea’s mom, is 27 and married to my son-in-law John, an advisor for AU College of Liberal Arts. Lacey manages the Lee County Youth for Christ and has a very cool blog of her own at http://fromtheauplains.blogspot.com

Of course, the ideas and opinions that I write in this blog will be from my perspective and may not reflect the point of view of the Alabama economic development community, Auburn University, the Alabama Cooperative Extension System, other ECDI staff members, or any sane person. More later . . .

Joe, Ella Clare, and Tucker

lynn-and-sweet-pea-2

Lynn and Ella Clare

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2013 1:05 pm

    Thanks for the good writeup. It actually was once a amusement account it.
    Glance complicated to more brought agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we keep up a correspondence?

  2. April 26, 2013 8:07 am

    Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m
    planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I
    had to ask!

  3. December 31, 2013 11:18 pm

    Hello everу one, here every person is sharing these familiarity, therefore it’s nice to read this website, anԁ
    I used to go to see this blog everyday.

  4. February 21, 2014 11:05 am

    ʜola
    Es intеresante el blog. Hay otros articulos nno me interesaгon demasiаdo, pero la mayora sonn buenos.

    Saludos!

  5. February 27, 2014 12:05 am

    Thank you for another informative blog. The place else could I
    am getting that kind of info written in such a perfect means?
    I’ve a undertaking that I am simply now working
    on, and I have been at the look out for such information.

Leave a Reply

